I managed to fix it using this “modified Frank G method” (http://saintjohnshawn.com/2007/09/16/windows-update-error-code-80073712/comment-page-2/#comment-714) combined with KB947821.
Simply using KB947821 did not solve the problem, had to delete files named like b3b08064fa14c901d30000005811bc0e.pending.xml
(about 10 of them).
However, after deleting those files from Windows\winsxs\Temp\PendingRenames\
I did reisntall WUA 3.0 and the result was again he error code. My experience is that you shouldn’t (re)install WUA 3.0.
Removed again one or two NEW longfilenamed.pending.xml-s from PendingRenames directory, reboot, then KB947821 then managed to download and install updates, about 300 MB.

Commands I used (Vista home premium, Japanese!! on a Sony VAIO, ^_^ I don’t speak Japanese):
command prompt run as Administrator, then
1. takeown /f C:\Windows\winsxs\Temp\PendingRenames\longfilename.pending.xml
2. icacls C:\Windows\winsxs\Temp\PendingRenames\longfilename.pending.xml /grant Administrator:(WDAC)

3. After this in Explorer right click, File properties, Security Tab, I gave Full Allow to myself (the user). Well, I did it for the Administrators, Users, User, to all, but only one was enough. I have to mention that the User was also Admin. Well, you’ll have to try, or give full Allow to all. More clicks, less frustration.
Then I managed to delete those files, one by one (GOTO 1. with next file).
help on icacls: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc753525.aspx
using icacls you can specify multiple files. I don’t know about takeown.

That’s my fix. But it is ridiculous, my dad received like 10 pages of crap from MS Support, without any helpful solution. Their last and final advice was to REINSTALL. HA-HA!! Mr Gates, PAY ME for working as your damn support tech guy!!
And it is a shame that such a bug can exist WITHOUT any solution for TWO years now. It is also a fucking shame that THE SUPPORT PEOPLE HAVE NO IDEA how to fix this thing, when an average user asks for help. And it is STUPID when the tool you supposed to download updates and fixes with GETS CORRUPT and you can't download those fixes. AND, the biggest joke of all, WHY DO WE NEED TO DOWNLOAD FUCKING UPDATES AND FIXES????? Sell a fucking software that works, do they sell "corrupted" cars? TVs? Books? Medicine?

And, after installing that computer and installing that damn vista I SUPPOSED to have real admin rights, and at the end I end up with no rights, some files can't be deleted even by SYSTEM, not to mention Administrator, ONLY TrustedInstaller was allowed!?!?!? And then I have to search the web for trick and magical commands and syntax, etc. SHIT!!!

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://usazzunk.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr941030919

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása